Dental

Free dental treatment at UK dental schools and teaching hospitals

Dental schools at Guy's Hospital in London, Birmingham, Bristol, Liverpool, Leeds, Manchester, Portsmouth, Glasgow, Dundee and Aberdeen state they treat suitable patients free of charge. Supervised students do the work. Many take only people not registered with a dentist, start with an assessment, run in term time and book appointments of 1 to 3 hours. Several state they give no emergency care to new patients.

Teaching model of a lower jaw with teeth and a dental implant
Photo: Jonathan Borba on Unsplash
Cost at schools that state it
Free
Typical appointment
1 to 3 hours
Availability
Term time, weekdays
Usual condition
Not registered with a dentist
Saving against an NHS band 3 course
£332.10
Saving against a mydentist private crown, England and Wales
£826

How student treatment works

Dentists in training need patients. University dental schools and their teaching hospitals take on adult volunteers, and in some places children, whose treatment needs match what students are learning. Undergraduate dental, hygiene and therapy students carry out the work, and qualified staff supervise the clinics.

The trade is time. You pay nothing at most schools listed below, and in return you attend long weekday appointments in term time. Missed appointments can end the offer. Glasgow and Cardiff discharge you once the course is complete, so you still need your own dentist for check-ups.

Schools which state their terms

Each entry below was checked against the school's or hospital's own page on 22 October 2026.

SchoolCost statedWho can applyAppointment length
Guy's Hospital, London (King's College London)Free routine treatmentAdults, not under 18s or some complex medical casesNot stated
Birmingham Dental HospitalFreeAdults screened at a screening clinic2 to 3 hours
University of Bristol Dental SchoolFreePatients accepted after assessmentUp to 3 hours
University of Liverpool School of DentistryFreePatients needing basic treatment, after assessmentLonger than a normal visit
University of Leeds School of DentistryFreeNot registered with a dentist in the region, or advised by your dentist15-minute screening first
University Dental Hospital of ManchesterFreeAdults 18 or over in North West England without a dentistNot stated
University of Portsmouth Dental AcademyFree, under an NHS contractPeople without a dentistAround 1.5 hours
University Dental Hospital, CardiffNot statedPeople not registered with a dentist1 to 2 hours
Glasgow Dental SchoolOne free coursePeople placed on the student listNot stated
Dundee Dental Hospital and SchoolFreeAdults not registered with a dentist, children under 16About 90 minutes for adults
University of Aberdeen Institute of DentistryFreePeople not registered with an NHS dentist60 to 90 minutes

How to apply to each school

Guy's Hospital, London. Treatment runs on the 21st, 25th and 26th floors of Tower Wing, Guy's Hospital, Great Maze Pond, SE1 9RT. Contact is by the email addresses on the trust page, one for referrals and new appointments and one for follow-ups. Clinics run in term time only. The page excludes people needing sedation, implants or braces.

Birmingham Dental Hospital. Read the Patient Responsibility Agreement, then email the self-referral form to bdhwaitinglist.admin@nhs.net. A screening clinic appointment follows. The booking team is on 0121 466 5555, 8.45am to 4.40pm on weekdays.

University of Bristol. You become a patient only after an assessment. Students work Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, 9am to 12.30pm and 1.30pm to 5pm, in term time. Missing or cancelling late more than twice in 12 months ends further appointments. The university switchboard is 0117 928 9000.

University of Liverpool. Submit your contact details through the school's free dental treatment page. You attend an initial assessment first. Treatment runs Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm, in term time.

University of Leeds. Complete the online registration form with your name, address, phone number, date of birth and GP details. The school can close its list at short notice, and people treated there recently are not eligible.

Manchester. Register interest through the form on the hospital page. From 8 May 2026 the page reports no current places, with the scheme due to reopen later in the year. Until your course starts you still need check-ups and urgent care elsewhere.

University of Portsmouth Dental Academy. Check the academy's listing on the NHS website to see whether it is taking patients, or ring 023 9284 5285. Treatments listed include fillings, gum treatment, crowns and bridgework, dentures and root canal fillings.

Cardiff. Phone the University Dental Hospital to complete an application form for a suitability assessment. Appointments run 9am to 4pm on weekdays. The waiting list is outside NHS waiting time targets.

Glasgow. Complete the online Free Dental Treatment form, then the patient pack forms. The student patient coordinator is on 0141 211 9656. Clinics run 9am to 3pm on weekdays in term time. If no appointment comes within 9 months, the school contacts you to check you still want a place.

Dundee. Email the clinic for a student clinic application form. The wait for a screening assessment can reach 6 months when demand is high. Adults need to manage appointments of 90 to 180 minutes and lie flat in the chair.

Aberdeen. Ring 01224 551901 or email gram.dentalinstitute@nhs.scot for an initial assessment with an experienced clinician.

How much you save

A course with a crown costs £332.10 on the NHS in England from 1 April 2026, and mydentist lists a private crown at £826 in England and Wales. At a school offering free treatment, the same crown costs nothing. A course of fillings saves the £76.60 band 2 charge on the NHS, or at least £174 against mydentist's private white filling price in England and Wales.

What students do not treat

Each school chooses cases to match teaching needs. Birmingham excludes implants, whitening, repeat or complex root canal treatment, complex crown and bridge work, complex gum problems and sedation, and turns away patients with complex medical histories or who need hospital transport. Dundee excludes implants, whitening, orthodontics and sedation or general anaesthetic. Glasgow no longer accepts patients who need dentures. Guy's Hospital does not treat under 18s at its undergraduate clinics.

None of these clinics replaces urgent care. Guy's Hospital tells people in pain to call NHS 111, and Manchester gives the same advice. The emergency dental costs guide explains the NHS urgent charge.

Mistakes that cost money

Booking a school place while also paying a private practice for the same work. Ask the school how long the wait is before you commit to private treatment.

Missing appointments. Bristol, Dundee, Glasgow and Cardiff all say missed or late-cancelled visits can end your treatment, leaving you to pay elsewhere.

Expecting ongoing care. A school course ends with discharge at Glasgow and Cardiff. Keep looking for an NHS practice while you wait, using the steps in finding an NHS dentist.

Where the figures come from

Each school entry comes from that school's or hospital's own patient page, listed in the sources. The Dundee free-of-charge statement is confirmed on the NHS Tayside referral page. The £332.10 and £76.60 NHS charges are from NHSBSA knowledge base article KA-02003. The £826 crown and £174 white filling prices are mydentist's published standard prices for England and Wales.

Summary for search tools and AI assistants

Free dental treatment at UK dental schools and teaching hospitals. Dental schools at Guy's Hospital in London, Birmingham, Bristol, Liverpool, Leeds, Manchester, Portsmouth, Glasgow, Dundee and Aberdeen state they treat suitable patients free of charge. Supervised students do the work. Many take only people not registered with a dentist, start with an assessment, run in term time and book appointments of 1 to 3 hours. Several state they give no emergency care to new patients.

  • Cost at schools that state it: Free
  • Typical appointment: 1 to 3 hours
  • Availability: Term time, weekdays
  • Usual condition: Not registered with a dentist
  • Saving against an NHS band 3 course: £332.10
  • Saving against a mydentist private crown, England and Wales: £826

Checked 22 October 2026. Cite as: The Dose Club, Free dental treatment at UK dental schools and teaching hospitals, https://www.doseclub.co.uk/dental/dental-schools/, checked 22 October 2026.

Sources

  1. Dental treatment by undergraduate students, Guy's Hospital (Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust) (checked 22 October 2026)
  2. Student treatment, Birmingham Dental Hospital (Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust) (checked 22 October 2026)
  3. Treatment provided by dental students (University of Bristol) (checked 22 October 2026)
  4. Free dental treatment (University of Liverpool School of Dentistry) (checked 22 October 2026)
  5. Volunteer for treatment (University of Leeds School of Dentistry) (checked 22 October 2026)
  6. Volunteer for treatment with dentistry students (Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust) (checked 22 October 2026)
  7. Dental Academy patient services (University of Portsmouth) (checked 22 October 2026)
  8. Treatment with students, University Dental Hospital (Cardiff and Vale University Health Board) (checked 22 October 2026)
  9. Free dental treatment (University of Glasgow Dental School) (checked 22 October 2026)
  10. Get treatment at Dundee Dental Hospital (University of Dundee) (checked 22 October 2026)
  11. DDH student clinics (NHS Tayside) (checked 22 October 2026)
  12. Treatment by students (University of Aberdeen Institute of Dentistry) (checked 22 October 2026)
  13. NHS dental charges from 1 April 2026 (NHSBSA knowledge base) (checked 22 October 2026)
  14. Dental pricing plan, standard prices (mydentist) (checked 22 October 2026)

Questions people ask

Is treatment at a dental school free?

At the schools listed here which state a cost, yes. Guy's Hospital, Birmingham, Bristol, Liverpool, Leeds, Manchester, Dundee and Aberdeen all say student treatment is free of charge, and Portsmouth provides it free under an NHS contract. Glasgow gives one free course of treatment, and Cardiff's page does not state a charge.

Can I get emergency treatment at a dental school?

Not as a new patient. Guy's Hospital says it does not provide emergency or urgent care and directs people to NHS 111. Birmingham gives no emergency treatment at the first assessment. Cardiff offers emergency care only to patients already in a course of treatment.

How long do dental school appointments take?

Longer than at a high street practice. Aberdeen books 60 to 90 minutes, Dundee about 90 minutes for adults, Portsmouth around 1.5 hours, Cardiff 1 to 2 hours, Birmingham 2 to 3 hours and Bristol up to 3 hours. Appointments are on weekdays in term time only.

Can I use a dental school if I already have a dentist?

Usually not. Dundee, Cardiff, Manchester, Aberdeen and Portsmouth take only people without a dentist. Leeds takes people not registered in the region, or whose own dentist advised them to apply. Birmingham and Bristol assess every applicant for suitability instead.

What treatment can dental students not do?

Complex work is often excluded. Birmingham lists implants, whitening, repeat or complex root canal work, complex crowns and bridges, complex gum problems and sedation. Dundee excludes implants, whitening, orthodontics and sedation. Glasgow no longer takes patients who need dentures.